Skip to content

Best home brew kit in Australia (2026)

Four Australian beer starter kits compared on what is in the box, batch size and what to add, with live prices from the stores we check.

Updated

Prices are live from our daily checks and exclude shipping. Some store links may earn us a commission. Affiliate disclosure

Starter kits look much alike until you read the contents list. That is where the differences sit: how big a batch you get, how many bottles you’ll be washing, and whether the sanitiser that keeps your first batch clean is in the box or on your shopping list.

This guide compares four beer starter kits on exactly that, as reviewed in October 2026. We should say up front that we haven’t tested these kits. The picks come from comparing what each maker lists in the box, plus the details in our own product catalogue. We say nothing here about how any of them tastes or performs. We cover the four beer starter kits we currently track, not every kit sold in Australia.

Quick picks

These are our recommendations from the contents lists, each bounded to a situation.

  • Best for a small first batch: Coopers DIY Small Batch Brew Kit 10L. 10 L, 12 bottles, and the smallest fermenter of the four. Check today’s price: from $92.00 at Brewmart · checked 57 min ago
  • Best for a first 23 L batch with published steps and timings: Coopers DIY Beer Brew Kit 23L. 30 bottles, plus Coopers’ own temperature and timing guidance. Check today’s price: from $149.00 at Coopers DIY · checked 57 min ago
  • Best for a sanitiser and the small extras in the box: Morgan’s Premium Starter Kit. Sanitiser, airlock and thermometer are all on the maker’s list. Check today’s price: from $99.00 at The Brew Shed · checked 57 min ago
  • A second 23 L option, once you’ve confirmed the contents: Mangrove Jack’s Starter Brewery Kit. We couldn’t find a maker contents list for it (more on why below). Check today’s price: from $119.95 at Brewmart · checked 57 min ago

Prices change, so we don’t print them here. The links above show today’s figure, and compare kit prices lists them side by side.

How we chose these kits

A kit made the list if it is a beer starter kit in our catalogue that includes a fermenter, bottles and a first brew. That leaves out cans sold on their own (we cover those under “What you buy for batch two”), kegging gear and kits with no ingredients.

We then looked at the same six things for each kit:

  1. batch size
  2. fermenter
  3. bottles
  4. first brew included
  5. sanitiser listed
  6. temperature and timing guidance from the maker

Where a page didn’t state something, the table says so. That is a gap in what we found, not a claim that the kit lacks it.

What’s in the box

Coopers 23L Coopers 10L Mangrove Jack’s Morgan’s
Batch size 23 L 10 L 23 L Not stated on the page we checked
Fermenter 34 L vessel and lid 13 L vessel and lid 30 L barrel with tap 30 L fermenter with tap and airlock
Bottles 30 x 740 ml PET, with caps 12 x 740 ml PET, with caps 30 x 750 ml PET 30 PET bottles, with caps
First brew included Lager extract, Brew Enhancer 2, carbonation drops Lager extract, Brew Enhancer 2, carbonation drops Gold Lager kit, brew enhancer, carbonation drops Blue Mountain Lager, Morgan’s Body Blend, carbonation drops
Sanitiser Not on the contents list Not on the contents list Not stated in our catalogue entry Listed (Morgan’s Sanitizer)
Temperature and timing guidance 21 to 27 C; about 3 to 4 weeks to first pour Coopers’ general guidance of 21 to 27 C Not stated in the sources we checked Not stated on the page we checked

Sources: the Coopers 23 L kit page, the Coopers 10 L kit page and the Morgan’s starter kit page. Mangrove Jack’s details come from our catalogue because we couldn’t find a maker contents list for the Australian kit.

A few terms, since the box lists assume you know them. The hydrometer is a floating gauge that tells you when fermentation has finished. Carbonation drops go into each bottle so the beer carbonates while it conditions; Coopers says two per 740 ml bottle. Brew enhancer is an ingredient added alongside the extract can; Coopers lists Brew Enhancer 2 as dextrose, maltodextrin and light dry malt.

The four kits

Coopers DIY Beer Brew Kit 23L

Best for: a first batch at full size, from a maker that publishes its steps and timings.

The Coopers DIY Beer Brew Kit 23L comes with a 34 L fermenting vessel, a hydrometer and measuring flask, a bottling valve, 30 PET bottles, and a first set of lager extract, enhancer and carbonation drops. Coopers also lists a tap, an adhesive thermometer strip and a mixing spoon, and its FAQ puts the whole kit as “just add water”.

Coopers is the only maker of the four whose timeline we found: about 15 minutes to mix, about a week to ferment, then roughly two weeks conditioning in the bottle, or three to four weeks from start to first pour. It tells you to bottle once the hydrometer reading has been the same over two or three days, which is a useful rule for a beginner because it replaces guessing.

The catch: sanitiser isn’t on the contents list, and Coopers doesn’t say where one should come from. It does call cleaning and sanitising the single biggest factor in a good batch, so check whether you need to add one. Coopers also asks you to keep the brew at a steady 21 to 27 C, away from spots that swing hot and cold through the day. That takes a bit of thought about where the fermenter lives.

Skip it if you’re short on bench space or reluctant to wash 30 bottles.

Check today’s price: from $149.00 at Coopers DIY · checked 57 min ago

Coopers DIY Small Batch Brew Kit 10L

Best for: a smaller bench, a smaller fermenter, or a trial run before committing to a bigger batch.

The Coopers DIY Small Batch Brew Kit 10L is the same idea at less than half the volume: a 13 L vessel, 12 PET bottles, and lager extract, enhancer and carbonation drops in smaller amounts. Coopers says it “makes a carton”. Bottling takes about 20 minutes by Coopers’ account, compared with 20 to 40 for the 23 L kit.

The catch: twelve bottles go quickly, and the box has no mixing spoon (the 23 L kit’s list includes one). The sanitiser question is the same as for the larger kit: it isn’t on the list. Coopers also has a separate range of small batch extracts, so the 1.7 kg cans further down are for the 23 L kits.

Skip it if you already know you want a full 23 L batch, since 12 bottles is a small first run.

Check today’s price: from $92.00 at Brewmart · checked 57 min ago

Mangrove Jack’s Starter Brewery Kit

Best for: a second 23 L option if you’d rather not go with Coopers, and you’re willing to confirm the box contents with the seller.

According to our catalogue, the Mangrove Jack’s Starter Brewery Kit makes 23 L and comes with a 30 L barrel fermenter with tap, 30 PET bottles of 750 ml, a Gold Lager kit, brew enhancer and carbonation drops.

The catch: this is the kit we’re least able to document. The Mangrove Jack’s page we checked didn’t give a contents list, so we can’t say what is listed for sanitiser, thermometer, temperature or timing, and we won’t guess. Ask the seller for the contents list before you buy, and check the pack for fermentation guidance.

Skip it if you want to verify every item against the maker’s own page before buying.

Check today’s price: from $119.95 at Brewmart · checked 57 min ago

Morgan’s Premium Starter Kit

Best for: a beginner who wants the sanitiser and the small items in the same box.

The Morgan’s Premium Starter Kit is the only one of the four whose maker’s page lists a sanitiser. Morgan’s lists a 30 L fermenter, hydrometer, spoon, bottling valve, tap, airlock, stick-on thermometer, 30 PET bottles and caps, Morgan’s Sanitizer, carbonation drops, 1.7 kg of Blue Mountain Lager, Morgan’s Body Blend, brewing instructions and a recipe chart.

The catch: the kit page we checked doesn’t state the batch size, the bottle volume, the fermentation temperature or the timing. Morgan’s may give them elsewhere on its site, but we only checked the kit page. That makes it harder to compare against the Coopers kits on what you’ll end up with, so check the pack or ask your seller before you commit.

Skip it if you need a published batch size and timeline in front of you before buying.

Check today’s price: from $99.00 at The Brew Shed · checked 57 min ago

What to check before you buy

Batch size against your bench and your patience. The 10 L kit gives you 12 bottles to wash and fill. The kits with 30 bottles give you 30. This is our rule of thumb from the bottle counts, not a measured result.

Sanitiser. If the contents list doesn’t include one, put one in the cart. Coopers says sanitising everything that touches your beer matters most, and its lists don’t include a sanitiser. Buying one is a precaution, not a requirement we can point to.

A steady spot for the fermenter. Coopers’ 21 to 27 C range applies to Coopers kits and Coopers extracts. For other kits, read the pack. Coopers says the key is keeping the temperature steady, so pick somewhere that doesn’t swing through the day.

What batch two needs. For a Coopers kit, the maker says the fermenter, hydrometer and bottles are reusable, so a later batch needs a new extract, enhancer and carbonation drops. That is the shopping list for next time.

A second opinion. Your local homebrew shop can tell you what’s in stock and what they’d add to a first order. If you want to know what else sits beyond the kit, our guide to what you need to start home brewing covers it.

The legal basics. The ATO says beer made for non-commercial purposes with non-commercial equipment isn’t excisable, but you must not sell or offer it for sale. That guidance is federal excise treatment, so check your state’s rules too.

What you buy for batch two

For Coopers kits, batch two is a can, an enhancer and carbonation drops. Four of the 1.7 kg Coopers cans in our catalogue:

According to our catalogue, Coopers recommends brewing the Draught, Lager and Australian Pale Ale cans with Brew Enhancer 2 for 23 L, and the Bootmaker with three 500 g packs of Light Dry Malt.

The Coopers Light Liquid Malt Extract 1.5kg and Coopers Wheat Liquid Malt Extract 1.5kg are optional add-ons. Our catalogue describes the light extract as a way to add body to a kit, and the wheat extract as a softer-mouthfeel option for wheat beers. Ask your shop how much to use with your can.

When to move to an all-in-one system

A starter kit brews from a can of extract. An all-in-one system brews from malted grain instead, which is called all-grain brewing. It gives you more control over the recipe, but it’s a different hobby, and we’d suggest a few can batches first. That is our judgement, not a rule.

Two options we track:

Neither replaces the fermenter and bottles, so budget for those as well. Grainfather describes its G40 as handling the hot side of all-grain brewing; fermenting and packaging are a separate job. Our catalogue lists fermenters separately, including the Coopers DIY Beer Fermenting Vessel 23L. Check the power supply too. The larger Grainfather G40 comes in 10 A mode, and Grainfather says its 15 A mode needs a separately sold cable and a professionally installed 15 A socket.

Which kit, by situation

  • Small bench, or unsure you’ll stick with it: Coopers 10L.
  • Want a standard batch and published timings: Coopers 23L, with a sanitiser added if you don’t already have one.
  • Want a sanitiser in the box: Morgan’s, after checking the batch size with the seller.
  • Considering Mangrove Jack’s: get the contents list from the seller first.

Then check today’s prices on the kit comparison page and ask a local shop about anything the box leaves out.

Compare prices for beer kits